SOUTHEASTERN CONNECTICUT COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS

5 Connecticut Avenue, Norwich, Connecticut 06360 (860) 889-2324/Fax: (860) 889-1222/Email: office@seccog.org

TO: Town of Salem Planning & Zoning Commission

FROM: Justin LaFountain, CZEO, Planner II/Salem Town Planner

DATE: May 20, 2021

SUBJECT: Review of Applications ZRA 21-03: Amendment to General Business Zone for

Storage Warehouses

Application ZRA 21-03 was submitted to the Town of Salem Planning and Zoning Commission by Shane P. Shilosky of Lebanon, CT. The application proposes to add a new use to the General Business Zone regulations, which would become known as Section 7.1.30 of the Salem Zoning Regulations. The added use would be 'Storage Warehouses.' for the production, packaging, and storage of food products. It is important to note that this is a text amendment application and must be reviewed by the Commission accordingly. Therefore, site specific details should not be a factor in making a decision.

Planner Comments:

This application is fairly straightforward, as it only proposes adding a use to the list of permitted uses in the General Business Zone. Storage Warehouses and/or Cold Storage Locker Plants are currently permitted uses in the Town of Salem in the Industrial Zone, Special Business B Zone, and Highway Commercial Zone. Approval of this application would allow such uses in the General Business Zone as well (following site plan approval by the Commission). The Commission may recall that a self-storage facility was approved in 2017 at 89 New London Road (zoned Highway Commercial). Such facility has not yet been constructed.

For the Commission's Consideration

The Commission acts in a legislative capacity, using broad authority, when acting on regulation amendments. If the Commission were to choose to approve the proposed text amendment, it would need to find and state on the record that the proposal is consistent with the municipal Plan of Conservation and Development. The Commission would also need to set an effective date for the new regulations to go into effect.

Member Municipalities:

Bozrah * Colchester * East Lyme * Franklin * Griswold * Borough of Jewett City * City of Groton * Town of Groton * Lebanon * Ledyard * Lisbon * Montville * New London * North Stonington * Norwich * Preston * Salem * Sprague * Stonington * Stonington Borough * Waterford * Windham